Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Desperate Expat
17 mars 2014

A Singaporean in Paris *** English post ***

This time around, I am going to write in English - not to show off my skills actually. For this topic I am hoping to extend my readership much wider than the French community.

Yesterday I had the opportunity to attend a Singaporean in Paris, a musical show created around the best french tunes from the 20th century. This is the second time the show is being run in Singapore, afASIP_Hero_image_webter it first sold out in 2010. Headed and directed by Hossan Leong, a major figure in Singaporean entertainment, the shows gathers international young talents such as Linden Furnell, Mina Kaye, Peter Ong and Vicky Williamson. The plot, the story of a Singaporean living his cabaret dream in Paris, allows to weave in about 20 french songs, delivered in French and English. And of course it's an excuse to crack a few jokes about Singaporean / French culture clashes, delivered to perfection by Monsieur Hossan.

As for "A French Kiss in Singapore", hearing french classic tunes in English is at first slightly disturbing… I found myself focussing on the lyrics much more than when I hear the initial version, and noticing some meaning that had escaped to me. Translations are really good, and the way actors delivered it brought them to a different life than the one I was used to. What I enjoyed most were the group pieces, with near perfect choregraphies  (Bravo Georges Chan! it's even better that A French Kiss in Singapore). The enthusiasm and energy of the actors are contagious - I found myself smiling widely and clapping my hands like a kid. For the duration of the show, I did not hear one single glitch and was impressed by the dancing skills on stage : clearly these guys master their art and it's a real pleasure to see that. Really, apart from a few bizarrely designed costumes (Linden, you have not been helped here, what a shame !), the show is perfect.

ThNat_portrait_sme show's creator, Nathalie Ribette, a french expat, has been in Singapore for way longer than me. She decided to transform her trailing spouse status into an opportunity to become a professional entertainer and she is now heading Sing'Theatre, a production company. Looking at the connections she has now on the Singaporean scene, the various shows she has delivered, one can only bow to her energy and ability to take full advantage of her expat experience. A Singaporean in Paris is the symbol of her success, and she definitely is a role model to follow among the expat community.

 


A Singaporean in Paris is on until 23rd March at the School of the Arts (Bras Basah, next to Cathay Cineplex) : you have the whole week to go ! Bring your kids, date, your partner, your Singaporean friends, for a nice treat. You will not be disappointed.

Click here for :

Show information
Tickets

Publicité
Commentaires
K
thanks for that, we are going on saturday, looking forward to it even more now!
Newsletter
Publicité
Archives
Publicité